The Realtor, Then vs Now

I was a Real Estate Sales lady, way back in the 1970’s. We worked with MLS books, no computers! We would receive an update every morning of the new listings. The listing Realtor would hold an open house just for the salesmen to view. If you were working with a Buyer that might like it, you made sure to check it out. That was how my work day began everyday. There were days I worked all day, then showed houses after dinner. If I wrote up an offer, then presented that offer to the seller, I wouldn’t get home until very late! And would need to be back in the office early so I could begin the paperwork.

I was a successful saleslady but that was soon to change. The company I worked for was sold to another company. As soon as we were told, my Manager quit. I was asked to be the interim Manager until they decided if they would keep our office open. They made me an offer that was hard to refuse. But would my salespeople be happy with me as their Manager. They all said they would stay on with me and work to keep our office a success. The first day as Manager, my Secretary gave me a sign for my office, it said, “The Queen Is Not Granting Audiences Today.” I would put it up when I was unavailable to chit chat! The only big change I made was regarding Floor Duty. My salespeople needed to be in the office for their required time. If they didn’t come in and didn’t call me with a valid reason, I took all leads. One time a call came in for a listing of an expensive home. The guy who was scheduled for floor duty wasn’t there and didn’t call me. I gave the listing to another agent. He was so mad at me, he quit! After 6 months on the job, they brought in one of their Managers to take over the office. He was not wanting to lose me as a Saleslady, so he offered to pay me to be his Assistant. It was not easy going from Sales to Management to Sales in the same office with the same staff. I stayed with the company for 6 months then quit! I was done. I went into Property Management no more nights or weekends. I finally had time for everything and everyone. No more crazy working hours.

Real Estate Salespeople today have it so easy as compared to back in the 1970’s and earlier!

 

About Judy Hansen

I have lived in many cities in the US and even lived in Calgary,Alberta Canada. But I always seem to end up where my life began in Toledo, Ohio. I am a wife, a mother, a grandmother, sister, aunt, and I'll be your best friend!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment